A Few Things to Note about Veganism in Thailand
- Fish sauce is often considered vegetarian, and it is a key ingredient in Thai cuisine. Always, always ask about its inclusion in a dish, even if it is marked vegetarian. This goes for all Thai restaurants worldwide. Nearly ever Thai restaurant I've entered uses fish sauce and/or shrimp paste in items on their so-called vegetarian menus.
- While its vegan status is debated elsewhere, in Thailand oyster sauce is considered vegetarian. If this is a concern, query ingredients before you order.
- If you want to ensure a vegan dish, ask for it to be made Jay, with the two above ingredients omitted. Jay is the Thai equivalent of vegan.
How to Order food in Thailand (Thai Language)
Bangkok Vegetarian Restaurants
Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants
Kanchanaburi Vegetarian Restaurants
Thailand Vegetarian Festival
Kin Jay is an annual nationwide vegetarian festival in Thailand, timed to coincide with the Chinese calendar's ninth lunar month. The festival is a nine day vegan dream come true.